Our Polite Society is a design practice with members based in Amsterdam, Stockholm, Hamburg, and Montreal, operating at the intersection of graphic design, web development, type design, and research. With equal focus on screen-based interfaces and printed objects, the studio brings together medium-specific thinking, editorial strategies, and technological experimentation. 

Our Polite Society Type was founded in 2017 as a support structure for project-based type designs and has since grown into an autonomous space for self-initiated projects, commissions, and bespoke typefaces.

Our Polite Society have been teaching at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy (Amsterdam) and the Royal Academy of Arts (The Hague), and are currently affiliated with the graphic design department of the École de design de l'UQAM (Montreal).

— — — — — — — — — — — — —


Dodo Voelkel (Hamburg)
+49 (0)160 487 38 87

Laslo Strong (Stockholm)
+46 (0)70 429 80 31

Matthias Kreutzer (Montreal)
+1 (438) 680 60 46

— — — — — — — — — — — — — —

Team members:
Elle Frankenberg (developer)
Jan Egbers (type designer)

— — — — — — — — — — — — — —

Accelerator (Stockholm, SE)
Arkdes (Stockholm, SE)
Avoidstreet (Amsterdam, NL)
Bauhaus Dessau Foundation (Dessau, DE)
Botopress (Berlin, DE)
Bureau Europa (Maastricht, NL)
Canadian Centre for Architecture – CCA (Montreal, CA)
CentroCentro (Madrid, ES)
Constant Foundation (Amsterdam, NL)
De Brakke Grond (Amsterdam, NL)
Dutch Architecture Institute – NAI (Rotterdam, NL)
École supérieure de mode (Montreal, CA)
Fünfer Film (Hamburg, DE)
Gerrit Rietveld Academie (Amsterdam, NL)
Hafencity University (Hamburg, DE)
Humboldt Forum (Berlin, DE)
Internationale Bauausstellung – IBA (Berlin, DE)
Jan van Eyck Academy (Maastricht, NL)
International Architecture Biennial Rotterdam – IABR (Rotterdam, NL)
International Poster and Graphic Design Festival Chaumont (Chaumont, FR)
Konstfack University of Arts, Crafts and Design (Stockholm, SE)
Kunstverein Bielefeld (Bielefeld, DE)
Malmö Konstmuseum (Malmö, SE)
Marres – Center for Contemporary Culture (Maastricht, NL)
Museum für Konkrete Kunst (Ingolstadt, DE)
Onomatopee (Eindhoven, NL)
Openlab (Stockholm, SE)
Ornamenta 2024 (Pforzheim, DE)
Paradiso (Amsterdam, NL)
P/////AKT (Amsterdam, NL)
Plan B (Amsterdam, NL)
Public Space With A Roof (Amsterdam, NL)
Sandberg Instituut (Amsterdam, NL)
Schloss Ringenberg (Haminkeln, DE)
Spector Books (Leipzig, DE)
Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam (Amsterdam, NL)
The New Institute (Rotterdam, NL)
University of Leuven (Leuven, BE)
University of Kiel (Kiel, DE)
University of Stockholm (Stockholm, SE)
Wim Crouwel Institute (Amsterdam, NL)
Wunderbaum (Rotterdam, NL)

— — — — — — — — — — — — — —

Thank you:
Anne Klontz, Bas Medik, Charlotte Rohde, Christoph Heinemann, Creative Industries Fund NL, Dominique Peck, Dotdotdot Stockholm, Eduardo Leon, Elina Birkehag, Experimental Jetset, Extrapool, Gerrit Rietveld Academie (AM), HFBK Hamburg (AM), Hansje van Ooien, Helena Malm, Henk Groenendijk, Indra Kupferschmidt, Jan Egbers, Jan van Eyck Academie (AM), Jules van den Langenberg, Julia Born, Jurgen Bey, Karl Nawrot, Karolien Glazenburg, Konstfack University (AM), Linda van Deursen, Louis-Charles Lasnier, Marieke Behne, Marius Schwarz, Mark Owens, Markus Dressen, Myrabelle Charlebois, Na Kim, Nadine Droste, Patrick Bittner, Paul Gangloff, Paulien Barbas, Philippe Gagné, Radek Górniak, Shuyu Chen, Spector Books, Steinarr Ingólfsson, Tarja Szaranjec, The Session, Tomas Adolfs, Vytautas Kumža, Will Holder, Zuzana Kostelanská